Be A Glamorous Mom in 20 Ways

We all know that being a mom comes with a lot of responsibility that you hardly ever find time for yourself. What I always encourage on this blog is for moms to create time for the things you love to do. These are the things that remind you are a woman and you do not ignore the urges that feel natural to celebrate and make time for.

Your time may not look the same like it did before having children but I do believe after adjusting and adopting a good routine then you will be able to create the time for the things you enjoy, for self-care, for reading, for prayer, for exercise, cooking healthy meals, for self-development, for sleeping well and what you do need from time to time.

I have come up with a list of things that totally make me feel so womanly and do not strip away my role of being a wife and a mother amongst many roles.

I know a lot of moms will relate so well because as much as we are moms there comes a time when we are ready to find ourselves as the children grow. You will most definitely go through many phases in this journey especially if you are a new mom.

At first you may likely feel as though you do not need to look a certain way because you are totally consumed and content with the role of being a mom but as your child grows you may realize you miss your old self again. That is really okay, there is time for everything and when you desire your old self again you will know and pursue that.

These phases may differ from woman to woman. However if you really miss your old self and are ready for an easy guide, you came at the right place. Let us get right into it.

Exfoliate Everything

One of the things I have come to love after giving birth is exfoliating my body daily. It makes the biggest difference and I have seen my marked skin heal as well as I stay consistent. I believe healing comes so easily to the skin as there is blood circulation. There are different ways to exfoliate the skin and for the body I love using the body brush as I bath or bathing gloves and for my face I love using a face scrub which makes a big difference to the skin.

I try to exfoliate my face no more than 3 times a week though as we are advised. After exfoliating keeping your skin hydrated is really good for the skin to regain moisture and heal the skin tissue to see visible results of a beautiful well taken care of skin.

I absolutely love the silk skin this gives me!

Coconut Oil

I do not know if there is anything that beats coconut oil but I love it so much and I recommend it for moms to use it too and have it. It is one natural oil that moisturizes the skin. You can literally use it on your skin after a bath and stay moist the entire day.

What is even better is it gives you the kind of skin texture a woman should have. It keeps the skin smooth and lovely to look at.

I love using it on the body and face too. If you struggle with dark circles under the eyes, use this as eye cream and it works wonders. So keep coconut oil in your cosmetic bag and you will be one happy girl.

Body Scrub

The same way a face scrub works for the face, a body scrub gently exfoliates dead skin cells on the body. This leaves the body feeling fresh and deeply clean. What I love about it is what you use is rubbed into the skin.

You can also make one for yourself to avoid spending a lot on these products (search for DIY body scrub you can simply make at home) and once a while you can spoil yourself to one. These are the small things that make a difference when it comes to a woman’s body.

Hydration

I refer to drinking water especially! I cannot emphasize how important this is. I notice how much we drink tea or other sugary drinks. I am not saying do not take these, enjoy them but never forget to drink water and detoxify the sugars we take in. This cleans up your system and you retain less water in your system.

When you drink water the body releases water to leave your body and new water to hydrate you. This works so well for your skin too so try this for a week but have a plan. When you plan for something, you follow through. I would advise you to have a bottle where you can keep water so you are likely to drink it.

This supports you as you keep your skin clear, as you exercise, stay healthy and fight fatigue.

Eats Fruits and Vegetables

“An apple a day keeps the doctor away” I am pretty sure they know the nutrients you get from one serving of an apple a day. You may not see any difference in a day or two but in a week or a month. The food you eat improve your well-being more than you can ever realize.

What you eat reflects in your energy and your sleeping patterns. This also reflects on your skin too.

Drink lemon Water

Lemon water detoxes your body and contains vitamin C which is good for your body. Not only that, but lemon water burns fat too. You can enjoy one bottle of lemon water a day and you can even stay hydrated. This will reflect on your entire skin.

Do Not Eat After 8 P.M.

I choose 8 because some moms commute to work and return home later than most of us. However if possible eat by 7 PM and drink water after that it is much healthier. This has really helped me to keep my mom belly smaller than it was getting.

In the past, i was exercising and eating well but really struggled with belly fat. It was not until I decided to eat light meals while having supper and then stop eating after that meal until breakfast the next morning. I have observed how much lighter I feel, I feel less fatigued and my belly is improving daily as I exercise.

Try this and you will love it, however I must say that it takes discipline. I must say that we often think we are hungry when we are actually thirsty, when an urge to eat comes you can drink water instead.

Exercise For 10 Minutes Consistently

Moving your body brings wellness to your body and improves your energy levels. Sometimes we aim to exercise 30 minutes to 40minutes a day yet sometimes with the time we have it may not be feasible or that. The best things to do is to create the time you are able to create, and work with that so you can be consistent. I have realized how beneficial it is to work out just for 10 minutes a day and stay consistent than to not work out at all.

You are able to tone your body and work the body you desire without making exercise so hard so you are likely to continue.

You will absolutely look great as your body moves and it rebuilds muscle for elasticity purposes too.

Sleeping Plan

Seriously though we all need a sleeping plan being sleep deprived can make your immune vulnerable to colds and flu. Set your timer for your sleep time if you have to and eliminate the things that keep you from actually going to bed earlier.

This improves your creativity, concentration and you are inspired to do things you love and actually have the energy for it. This brings life to your entire outlook in life and you beam with life.

Talk about an easy way to glam up!

Eat Well (No Skipping Meals)

Eating a well balanced diet helps in maintaining your energy levels and improves your overall health and well being. So if you desire a healthy lifestyle that will pay off on your skin and health in general, you may consider planning your meals and watch how much your skin improves.

The challenge with skipping meals is that when your body needs food, when it does not get it then your energy drops too much and it affects your entire body. You can even become sluggish and you find yourself taking less interest in even taking care of yourself. Health is everything!

I remember how i used to starve myself and i would be so moody. this affected me at work and at home too. So be mindful of any diet you decide to put yourself on. if it frustrates you, it is not worth it, well being is holistic.

Hair and Nails

Look! I get it, you may not afford to go to the salon all the time when it comes to money and your time. However you can try to can a fresh look once a month or once in two months. This will depend on how you are able to maintain a hairstyle. This seems like something so small but makes such a big difference. It will make getting ready in the morning much easier and this will really make you feel as special as a woman should.

Let no one make you feel guilty for spending on your hair and nails once a while, it will save you so much time in the mornings and you will be showering yourself with love as you take care of your hair and nails. It is not everyone who will love to do their nails but keeping them neat and clean does a lady so much good.

Wear Make Up

I have confessed just how much I love make up because it allows me to be creative and do whatever look I decide on as the mood arises. Some people are afraid of using make up because they have been told it will ruin their skin, I did my research before using it. I got mixed answers but what I found out is that if you take care of your skin, and remove makeup before you sleep your skin will do well.

Maintaining good natural skin is the best so you can enjoy make up free days too mommy.

Sometimes there is a controversy between being a natural and wearing makeup, the decision is yours to make by enhancing your natural features and having fun with what feels fun and lovely to do.

Laugh

How tense are we though? We assume things, make judgments about everything, worry about everything, wonder if we are loved enough and we focus on things that weigh us down. How about you spend 30 minutes to an hour on what brought you joy and continually doe. That could be as simple as baking, spending time with your children, making your spouse some tea or watching something that really makes you laugh.

The next time you catch yourself holding back to fit in, remember to let go and trust that you are exactly who you are being in this very moment.

“Happy girls are the prettiest” I agree and you become a magnet to good things. Laugh with your children and live moment to moment.

Believe In Yourself

Learn to believe in yourself! Sometimes we write down our dreams and things do not turn out the way we hoped they would, we make mistakes in our paths, we do not fit in in our environment and we pray for things thinking God has not answered yet He is all knowing and will always be at the right time. It is time to pick yourself up and start pursuing your dreams again.

Go back to the foundation that is God’s word and remind yourself what God says about you.

As moms we carry a lot on our shoulders, we try to be the best we can be and it can be overwhelming at times. Remember to trust that you are the right parent for your children and focus on improving where you can.

Dress for Your Body

This makes the biggest difference and it is the little things that make you feel absolutely gorgeous. Take a few minutes a day or a week and plan your wardrobe. This will make dressing up much simpler, there nothing as depressing as not knowing what to wear.

Add some jewellery to your closet, the simplest thing you can ever do. it transform an outfit.

Thrift collect and add some beautiful items to your wardrobe.

Create time and go through Pinterest which can give you a guide on the type of body you have and how to dress for it. Pay attention to how you feel as you make these changes, being a mom does not mean neglecting your style really. You can just be smart about your time.

Self-Care Days

Pick your self-care days and when the children are asleep give yourself some good pampering including a bubble bath, Skin care routine, read a book, read the bible, be offline and fulfill taking care of yourself holistically.

Enjoy Being a Woman

As moms we often forget ourselves or lose ourselves in our roles yet we are still women. Women love to look good, feel good and sexy without being apologetic about it. Get yourself those lovely under garments and whatever makes you feel womanly. I love showing some leg, well that is one of my best features that I love about myself and that is my legs.

I pick days where I can absolutely dress up since most days I rush through the mornings and for me I pick Fridays where I can go to work all dressed up and I love that, I am a woman.

Find what you enjoy as mom and create the time for it.

Receive Love

This is one big topic that I hope I articulate so well. We run around taking care of everyone as mothers and we find it hard to receive love I guess because we have toughened up to take care of our children and our families. We have felt the need to protect our children and now we hardly allow ourselves to enjoy and receive love from your spouse.

When you allow yourself to just be a woman, allow yourself to be sexy in your own way and are not apologetic about it, you will receive love from your spouse so easily and not push him away because you know you deserve love.

I would love you to read this post on how to grow in marriage.

Related Post!

13 Ways To Grow And Appreciate Your Spouse!

It is time we learnt to enjoy being in love and embrace it as part of God’s creation.

Lift Others

Lifting others and celebrating their blessings opens your heart places you in a position of contentment. Be the voice that encourages people around them, you do not have to carry the weight of being savior! That is not what I mean, but speak kindly and celebrate with others when they celebrate. This does not make your own life small but you are sowing a seed for a healthy environment, it starts with you and you will be one happy girl as the power of intention unfolds the same way in your life.

You can offer knowledge to someone on raising children and simply improve their lives.

Summary

I hope you have found this absolutely helpful and i look forward to getting feedback from you as you relate to how this has made your life much simpler. I do believe we can have the best of all worlds, being a mom and enjoy other roles without feeling like we have to choose one over the other.

Wrapped In Love!

Futhi Mkhwanazi

Published by allthingsgodlypretty

My name is Futhi Mkhwanazi, I a mother of 4 beautiful children (10,7 and 5 years of age and 3 month old boy) and married to a wonderful husband. My husband and I home school all our 3 children and soon our boy will join. I inherited a beautiful daughter Lindelwa when my husband and I met, whom i call my princess who is now 25 years old. My husband and i have been married for 13 years now. I love pretty things, God, family, makeup, skincare, nails, long wavy hair ( but that has been mostly compromised by breastfeeding, i lost my hairline a lot), i love outings with my husband and children and sometimes with people i associate with just to name a few. I love to write and create, novelty inspires me a lot. I am so drawn to branding & marketing along with writing and creating content for media platforms and now i am ready to share my innermost thoughts and life with the world.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started