Evaluate and Set Priorities 7 Ways In Mamaland

I always know when my priorities are out of track but just cannot clearly put a finger on what is missing. Often it is easy to just go on with your daily routines even when they are no longer working because our priorities are no longer being honored. we easily lose track of priorities because we maintain the ways of life we are used to, in what you can call habits.

So Why do we need to evaluate our priorities when we know what they are?

As people we usually say things we wish could happen but we do not follow through by being intentional and it ends up becoming wishful thinking that gets us nowhere where our priorities are concerned.

Sometimes we really do commit and see our priorities through but we lose track of our way and we get weary, we get distracted and they lose meaning to us.

Evaluating our priorities is not only that we have lost track of our way all the time but sometimes as we grow, as our children grow it requires that we change our way of doing things so we can best live our lives.

For Example! The birth of a new born brings about a major change in the family and the family priorities may need to be altered so the family can adjust well to the changes that come with a new born.

What I love about life is it has clear patterns that shows us what works for us and what does not work for us. I once mentioned that I had to choose between being a social butterfly and being a committed mom. I could not have it both with young children.

I had to choose between being a social butterfly and being a committed mom, I could not have it both”

The Importance of evaluating your Priorities!

As moms we really have a lot on our plate, we have to take care of our families, nurture our children while they grow, teach, feed our families and so much more. If you do not decide what is most important to you and make those things a priority, you may feel

  • Like a failure in your roles
  • Burnt out
  • Barely coping with most or all your roles
  • a ticking bomb
  • Constantly feeling guilty

By the end of this post, you really should be able to define what your priorities are and how to put them into action. these will assist you in

  • Creating a well balanced life
  • A life that is focused on what you value
  • Measure your values with the way you spend your time and money
  • Leave /cut off things that are not serving you
  • Stop feeling guilty for making time for your priorities and saying no to the rest
  • Enjoy quality and quiet time with your family
  • You will feel at ease about motherhood because deep down you know you are giving it your best shot
  • You will evolve and grow, make mistakes but you will be better at your roles each day
  • A few years from now, you will reap what you are sowing today.
  • Your strength and energy will be renewed each day.

Okay I believe you get the picture if you have not already experienced this. Let us look at effective ways to evaluate our priorities as moms!

  1. What do I need Right Now?
  2. What are my values?
  3. What season am I in?

After answering these questions then proceed to creating a purposeful life by prioritizing what matters most to you.

  1. Set your Priorities and write them down
  2. Create a plan and stick to it
  3. Review Your priorities often
  4. Identify your distractions and minimise them
  5. Recognize areas where you need help
  6. Identify urgent areas of growth
  7. Set your boundaries

What Do I Need Right Now?

That is for you to answer mommy, Sometimes we walk through our lives unaware of what we need at this moment. You can make a list of things you need;

  • Do you need help more from your family or nanny?
  • Do you need to sleep more?
  • Do you need to create more time with your children?
  • Are the family schedules still working or they need to change?

What I realized today after a call with a life coach is that we miss so much of the shadows in us that may block us from actually being aware of what we need to focus on at the moment. Talking to someone may open your eyes in areas that are neglected or areas that are no longer a priority yet they should be.

What Are Your values and beliefs?

Have you ever lost track of your direction just a bit? I have countless times and now it is time to question what are your values? These will really guide you on setting your priorities as a wife, mom, as a business woman, as a stay at home mom and as a career woman.

How do we measure our values?

Someone once said you measure your values according to where you spend your time and money! Those things are valuable to you and you may need to check in with your values because you may be spending time and money somewhere you are not supposed to. However it happens when we are unaware of some of our habits.

Our values set the tone for our priorities in our lives. They help us determine what is important to us. Beliefs give us perspective in life, guiding us and determine how we respond to situations.

What Season Of Your Life Are You Experiencing?

Its true our priorities will vary according to what season and times we are in. When you have a new born baby your priorities may including Breast feeding and getting the baby to latch on well. However as the baby grows you may focus on introducing solids and having a family meal together as the children grow.

Set Priorities And Write Them Down

This will help you determine what are the most important things in your life right now and what takes top of the list and the bottom list.

I will make an example with myself; The most important things for me is My relationship with God, quality family time, physical fitness and wellness, business & blogging and ministry (couples ministry&families). Please go ahead and write down yours on your note pad or journal or you can record them as a voice note so you know what is important to you now!

Now that I have a list, it is much easier to break it down and now determine what practices, activities, circle of influence and diet that I need to follow to look exactly like my priorities.

Create A Plan And Stick To It?

I will continue to use my example from the above list. Now you have to determine your priorities and create measurable ways of keeping yourself on track. So if your list looks like mine it means I will be focused on reading scripture and doing what the scriptures says where my relationship with God is concerned.

So if you value family time you will make meal times so important for family, putting the children to bed, making time for your husband and bonding continuously, exercising more for a physically fit body.

Related Post!

Meal Times Are Family Fun Times

As a blogger I know the importance of publishing posts continuously and consistently and consistent advertising for business.

Review Your Priorities Often!

This is because they change according to which times and seasons you are experiencing. It also happens that you lose track of your most important priorities because you got distracted along the way.

Check in with yourself from time to time.
From the time I started blogging my priorities have changed now and again. Some seasons I needed to sleep more for my well being so I would give myself a break from posting and focus more on restful sleep.

Identify Your Distractions And Minimise Them!

What distracts you the most? Do you desire to make your meal times with your family important but you lose track of time scrolling on your social media feed and hardly finish cooking on time?

My biggest distraction had been social media but i had set my intentions to be a present mom and wife. When you have made mistakes before you know wishful thinking will not get you the results. Being a present mom means i make use of the time my husband and children are awake by making the most of them. It means i can reply non urgent messages during my free time or i use a few minutes after they fall asleep. Its non negotiable for me.

I can also wake up earlier to reply to messages and emails.

Recognize Areas Where You Need Help

One of my biggest challenges right now is organizing my space and my home so for me i do need help when it comes organizing my home. If there is an area that you need help with or advise and yet it is a priority at the moment or in the future then get the help that you need to confidently fulfill your priorities. This can be as simple as learning to get a baby to latch well for breast feeding and that is a priority to a new mom.

Identify Areas Of Growth Especially Urgent Ones

When you have set your priorities it means those are areas of importance to you and growth is necessary from time to time. There are so many areas we can improve as moms leaving us feeling less guilty or not guilty at all and living fulfilled lives.

Set Boundaries!

You cannot make everything a priority because you will be burnt out. Some priorities may be seasonal but it may be overwhelming to take on many things to do and bring unnecessary guilt.

One thing i have been committed to is giving my weekends to my family and saying no to commitments that take me away from them during weekends.

There is a lot i still need to improve on when it comes to setting boundaries as i realised today when talking to a life coach today whom you can follow on instagram at sheleadscreatives and book your session.

Wrapped In love!

Futhi Mkhwanazi

Did you enjoy the post?

What was most insightful for you? Share it here!

Published by allthingsgodlypretty

My name is Futhi Mkhwanazi, I a mother of 4 beautiful children (10,7 and 5 years of age and 3 month old boy) and married to a wonderful husband. My husband and I home school all our 3 children and soon our boy will join. I inherited a beautiful daughter Lindelwa when my husband and I met, whom i call my princess who is now 25 years old. My husband and i have been married for 13 years now. I love pretty things, God, family, makeup, skincare, nails, long wavy hair ( but that has been mostly compromised by breastfeeding, i lost my hairline a lot), i love outings with my husband and children and sometimes with people i associate with just to name a few. I love to write and create, novelty inspires me a lot. I am so drawn to branding & marketing along with writing and creating content for media platforms and now i am ready to share my innermost thoughts and life with the world.

One thought on “Evaluate and Set Priorities 7 Ways In Mamaland

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started